Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

8:33 p.m. - 2001-06-07
Slave to the System
The African-American members of our country are demanding "reparations" for all the slavery their ancestors had to endure, have you heard about this? Apparently, the black majority is rallying to have the United States government send them free CASH.

This is true. Every black citizen will get like $1000 mailed to them, if this thing goes through.

"It's the least the country can do," they're saying, "since our great-great-great-great grandfathers may or may not have been slaves."

I'm not going to turn my diary entry into a racial argument, but I have one thing to say:

One time in 1987, I was playing Galaga at a video arcade and I kept putting quarter after quarter in. I was going to beat the game. I was "in my groove".

My Galaga groove.

And then one of the quarters I put in got eaten by the machine. The "Continue?" counter counted down slowly. 10-9-8.......

Fucking machine.....I'm pushing the Coin Return button and the fucking quarter's not coming out. It stole my quarter.

The counter got to 0 and my game was over.

I never beat Galaga. To this day it remains my archnemesis.

And I've never forgotten that quarter.

But, you don't see me demanding hand-outs from the government. Let bygones be bygones, I say.

Then again, Galaga didn't rape my wife and children and whip my back while I picked cotton.

It just stole my quarter.

But still.......

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!