Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

6:25 p.m. - 2004-07-22
My Corey Adventure
So, I guess I'll be driving to San Diego this weekend....unexpectedly. I wasn't planning on it, until about two hours ago.

That's when I found out that Corey Feldman and Corey Haim would both be at Comic-Con, signing autographs and talking to fans. Comic-Con is the world's largest comic convention.

That's worth the drive from Vegas to Diego.

My name, Edgar Frog, incidentally, is the same name as Corey Feldman's character in The Lost Boys, which both Coreys starred in.

But you already knew that.

My diary and screenname and Whiskey For Kids Foundation and Lab Monkey Page and all that jazz are really not affiliated with Corey Feldman's character in The Lost Boys in any way.

Chalk the same name up to a co-inky-dink.

When I was about 12, I wanted to be Corey Haim when I grew up.

I did my hair like him. I wore similar shirts as him.

I even trained for a short while to be a mouth-breather like him.

I met Corey Feldman once briefly. I saw his band perform at a dive bar in San Diego a few years back.

He has a band now.

They sucked.

I high-fived him though, and made a shirt that says "I high-fived Corey Feldman".....I've been known to wear it in public.

But to meet both Coreys together would be the ultimate Kodak moment.

So, it is my mission to go meet the both of them at Comic-Con. My goal is to post a photo in this here diary of the two Coreys posing with yours truly.

I also have an alterior motive for going.....

My life won't be complete until they both autograph my VHS copy of License To Drive.

It is in its original package and everything. I bought it in like 1988 or some shit.

You bet!

Funny thing is, up until last year, I lived in San Diego, and going to Comic-Con would have been no problem. But now I live in Vegas, a 4 1/2 hour drive away. And bad luck on my part, my best friends in San Diego won't be there this weekend.

So, I'll have to get a motel for the weekend!

So, if anybody reading this lives in San Diego and doesn't mind a belligerent drunk crashing on their floor for the night, let me know.

It would probably just be me, my lady-friend, a bottle of Jack, and my copy of License To Drive.

No problem!

Or maybe at Comic-Con I'll be able to talk to Corey Haim and ask him if I can crash at his house for the night....

I'm sure he wouldn't mind.

It would be up to his mom though...whether or not he's allowed to have a guest stay the night.

The acting biz has been tough on him!

Also, I guess whether or not I could stay the night at Corey Haim's house would depend on whether he had to get up early the next morning and go to work or not.

McDonalds opens up at like 5am to sell their McMuffins.

That's early!

But, maybe he works swing shift....Who knows!



UPDATE (07-27-04)!!!

Um.....Comic-Con was a total success.

Yeah...

I got to see Corey Haim and Corey Feldman, just how I had been hoping I would.

We talked and laughed. It was great fun, and not a waste of my time to drive to San Diego at all.

What I particularly loved about Comic-Con was that it wasn't busy at all....and there were absolutely NO long lines full of people preventing me from seeing who I wanted to see and doing what I wanted to do.

Especially seeing the Coreys.

After all, it would've sucked if I had not been able to see the Coreys due to an overly long line full of people waiting to see them, and rent-a-cop security guards denying me from getting in line because the "line limit" had been reached....especially after driving 4.5 hours to San Diego from Vegas JUST to have them autograph my VHS copy of License To Drive.

That would be a ridiculous waste of time and money!

But, luckily, that didn't happen!

Comic-Con rocks!

They even were kind enough to pose for a picture with me. I blurred my face to conceal my identity.

See:

Awesome!

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!