Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

11:08 p.m. - 2003-05-27
I don't know if this entry makes sense.
I just got back from Vegas last night....well, at 3:45 in the morning. And then had to wake up for work 3 hours later. I felt sleep deprived all day at work.

I still feel weird. I think I need sleep. I think there's still whiskey in my bloodstream from my Memorial Day weekend in Vegas.

I got a total of about 5 hours of sleep over the course of the entire weekend. About an hour and a half of sleep each night...If that. Then, on top of the sleep deprivation, I was drinking whiskey like it contained the gift of life. Shots of Jack mostly. Saturday night I remember drinking shots of Jack with Jack & Coke chasers....

Which is kinda like trying to put out a fire by pouring kerosene on it.

Somewhere in there was a pack of Coronas and a few pints of Heineken. And Saturday night, the bartender slid me a drink and said it was from a gay guy on the other side of the bar. He had bought it for me. "A guy bought me a drink," I asked the bartender. "Isn't that a little creepy?"

"Yeah, it is a little creepy," the bartender agreed. I didn't ask questions. I just took the drink and left.

Nights turned into days, and sleep didn't factor into the equation ever.

I don't know if this diary entry even makes sense, because I'm too tired to write.

Fun Biology Facts: Your brain needs sleep to function properly, or else you'll go crazy. Alcohol dehydrates the brain causing it to not function properly and make you go crazy. So, when you drink AND you don't sleep, it's like you're dead....Except you're not. There was no time for sleep. All time was spent on gambling and drinking.

I don't know why I haven't coughed up blood yet. It's only a matter of time, I think.

I left Vegas last night at 8pm....full of whiskey, and not having slept for three days. I don't know what I was thinking. If you're lucky, you can do the drive in 5 hours....If you're falling asleep at the wheel, there's no telling.

I was somewhere around Barstow, on the edge of the desert, when the sleep deprivation began to take hold. I pulled into a rest stop, and slept in my car for an hour...continued driving....thought I saw a tree walking towards the freeway, like the one from Lord of the Rings....Realized I needed sleep more, so I pulled into a little city called Hesperia, and slept a while longer in my car in a Denny's parking lot. This was around 2am.....This was last night, which was a work night. Six hours later, I needed to be at work, 200 miles away.

And I still made it to work somehow, safe and sound, albeit late. I'm a pro.

I have an ulcer in my stomach probably, my checking account is at $-40.00, and I have a hickie on my neck.

Or hicky....

I don't give a shit how it's spelled.

My only complaint was that they were doing construction on the I-95 freeway the whole time I was in Vegas...Orange cones all over the place, lanes blocked, no clear delineation between the lanes...At some points, three lanes would unexpectedly merge and become two lanes, without warning. And the whole while, cops are patrolling the freeways looking for drunken out-of-towners......I passed a cop once going 90mph down the 95 freeway, this was at 4am, and I was weaving past orange cones.....As I passed the cop, I realized my car was straddling two lanes. I fully expected to spend the night in a Las Vegas jail, but the cop just sat there in his car for some reason. No sirens. No chase.

He might've been asleep.

I'd be driving along, drunk, trying to focus on the lines painted on the road, and then the lines would disappear, and orange cones would be everywhere. Tractors and cranes sticking out into the lane that you have to swerve around....Cement walls in your lane, as if the County is just saying "Think fast" and dropping cement blocks and plastic cones into your lane. An obstacle course in the middle of the fucking freeway.

What is this, fucking Double Dare? Where's Marc Somers? I'm surprised I didn't have to drive through slime.

I don't feel like doing a fucking obstacle course at 5am after a night of binge drinking.

I felt like writing a letter to the goddamned city, telling them to do something about the freeway construction nuisance......

Get that shit out of the road, some of us are trying to drive drunk here.

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!