Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

8:23 p.m. - 2003-03-20
Comedy Hour
It sure is hard to sell graphics to news agencies:



Edgar Frog: Hi

Kare 1 B: hi

Edgar Frog: Your profile says you're a news reporter......Who do you work for?

Kare 1 B: why do you ask

Edgar Frog: Just curious.

Edgar Frog: I'm actually trying to find somebody affiliated with CNN or FOX.

Kare 1 B: why

Kare 1 B: i'm ABC and FOX

Edgar Frog: Broadcasting out of which city?

Kare 1 B: why???

Edgar Frog: Well, I'm a graphic designer, and I had some questions to ask.

Kare 1 B: ok

Kare 1 B: i'm in wisconsin

Kare 1 B: what do you need to know

Edgar Frog: Regarding the war graphics that they use on their television broadcasts and websites.

Edgar Frog: Well, I designed a graphic for the current Iraqi situation, and I was wondering if FOX or CNN or ABC would be interested in buying the graphic.

Edgar Frog: Care to see it?

Kare 1 B: yeah sure

Operation Iraqi Freedom

Edgar Frog: I think it would look good on one of their websites.

Edgar Frog: Particularly CNN.

Kare 1 B: that is dumb.

Edgar Frog: Why?

Edgar Frog: I spent a long time on that.

Edgar Frog: It was the best pictures of Saddam and Bush that I could find.

Kare 1 B: that is dumb

Edgar Frog: Does that mean ABC and CNN would not be interested in it?

Kare 1 B: you're probably one of those dumbass viewers that call in and ask to speak to Peter Jennings

Edgar Frog: I don't like Peter Jennings.

Edgar Frog: Why is my graphic dumb?

Edgar Frog: I thought CNN would pay big bucks for it.

Kare 1 B: why do you think

Edgar Frog: It is called "Operation Iraqi Freedom", right?

Kare 1 B: maybe because it is unprofessional

Edgar Frog: It's very professional. I'm a graphic designer. I do this for a living.

Kare 1 B: well, the networks aren't going to use it and you're not going to sell it by Iming random people on AOL

Edgar Frog: Do you not like it because Saddam is turned to the side, rather than facing forwards like Bush?

Kare 1 B: that is retarded

Edgar Frog: Why?

Kare 1 B: freakin war protestors

Edgar Frog: It took me over an hour to design.

Edgar Frog: I'm not protesting the war. See how there's a camouflage background.....

Kare 1 B: well, call ABC they will shoot it down in a second

Edgar Frog: Why do you think ABC will shoot it down? Don't they use graphics like that, pitting Bush vs. Saddam head-to-head.....

Edgar Frog: CNN always has fancy graphics.

Edgar Frog: Do you have an address or phone number for me to contact ABC?

Kare 1 B: for a business man you need to be more resourceful

Edgar Frog: I'm using you as my resource.

Kare 1 B: no i dont' have abc's #

Edgar Frog: Do you think it would be better if I used color photos of Saddam and Bush?

Kare 1 B: no i dont' think it matters

Edgar Frog: Those were the only photos I could find where they were both dressed nice, Saddam in a suit and Bush in military uniform.....

Edgar Frog: I thought by using photos depicting them dressed nicely, it would add a touch of class to the graphic.

Edgar Frog: Why don't you think it matters?

Edgar Frog: Hello?

Kare 1 B: i don't know

Edgar Frog: I wonder if Peter Jennings would like it. Do you have his number so I could speak with him?

Kare 1 B: you are a dork

Edgar Frog: I don't know why nobody likes my graphic.

Kare 1 B: you are a retard



Edgar Frog: Hi

ACK580: hi

Edgar Frog: Your member profile says you're a radio newscaster...?

ACK580: yes

Edgar Frog: For which news station?

ACK580: local, if you're in Calif. you wouldn't have heard of it.

Edgar Frog: Ah....

Edgar Frog: I don't suppose you have connections to TV news stations?

ACK580: somewhat - the media are all kind of interconnected

Edgar Frog: See, I'm a graphic designer, and I wanted to inquire about selling a war graphic to one of the news affiliates.

Edgar Frog: I'm having a hard time getting anybody to buy the graphic.

ACK580: hmm, they usually make their own graphics cheaply so their motivation to buy one would unfortunately be low

Edgar Frog: I designed it for the current situation in Iraq. I think it would look really nice on CNN or ABC's website.

Edgar Frog: Care to see it?

ACK580: ok

Edgar Frog: I think it would tie in well with the news stories on CNN's website.

Edgar Frog: Hello?

ACK580: is that supposed to be funny? American and British military lost their lives tonight.

Edgar Frog: It's not supposed to be funny. It's a serious graphic. I thought CNN might be interested in purchasing it.

Edgar Frog: It was the best photos of Saddamn and Bush that I could find....Do you think it would be better if I used color photos of them?

Edgar Frog: I sure am having a hard time getting a news agency to buy my graphic.

ACK580: before you ridicule Bush: ask yourself, would I rather live in America or Iraq?

Edgar Frog: I'm not ridiculing Bush.....I'm trying to design a dramatic graphic for Operation Iraqi Freedom.

ACK580: then why not put your talents towards designing something legitimate

Edgar Frog: You don't think my graphic is legitimate? I really thought it would tie in well with the news coverage on CNN or ABC.

Edgar Frog: They always have fancy graphics on their websites.

Edgar Frog: Is the font hard to read on it? Is that why you don't like it?

ACK580: I challenge you to create an appropriate graphic

Edgar Frog: What's inappropriate about this one? You don't think one of the major news affiliates would use it?

Edgar Frog: It's because I used monotone photos of Saddam and Bush instead of color photos, isn't it? I admit.....it would be more eye-catching if they were color photos.

ACK580: oddly enough, the major news affiliates do not consider the onset of war to be Comedy Hour. Why do you think that is?

Edgar Frog: There's nothing funny about war. That's why I designed this dramatic graphic.

Edgar Frog: It's supposed to be dramatic.....it should convey the message of war between two great nations.

ACK580: Iraq is a great nation?

Edgar Frog: Powerful, at least.

Edgar Frog: What exactly do you not like about my graphic? It's unclear to me.

ACK580: they're not powerful. They're falling apart on the first day

Edgar Frog: Just admit that you don't like the font I used......That's the problem, isn't it?

ACK580: yes that's exactly it

Edgar Frog: I'll change it to a less bold font.....Maybe a script font, and then I'll get back to you, okay?



I knew I should've used a different font for the text.

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!