Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

1:21 a.m. - 2002-11-18
I think I'm on to something here.....
Welcome edgar frog ...

Connecting to server. Please wait...

Connected to server. An agent will be with you shortly

Welcome to America Online's Live Help Area. A Customer Care Consultant will be with you shortly.

AOLTechDUT has joined this session!

Hello, Edgar Frog. Welcome to Live Technical Support. My name is Lhynne.

You stated your issue is: Getting kicked off AOL

AOLTechDUT: Nice meeting you online, Edgar! :o)

AOLTechDUT: I appreciate the time you've taken and the opportunity to handle this for you. :-)

AOLTechDUT: There are a dozen possible reasons for that kind of difficulty, so let's gather a little more information to determine what is going on. Which one of the following describes best what happens to you at those times?

edgar frog: I keep getting kicked off AOL.....

AOLTechDUT: Does AOL disappear off your screen completely so you have to click on the icon again? Does it say Goodbye and take you back to the AOL screen where you click Sign On to get back online? Or do you get any kind of error message?

edgar frog: Well, I just want to know if it is a problem with my computer, or is it a problem on AOL's end?

edgar frog: Because, every other program on my computer works fine.

AOLTechDUT: I apologize for the inconvenience that this issue has caused you.

AOLTechDUT: Would you please tell me if you are receiving a specific error message?

edgar frog: It says my connection was reset by the remote server.

edgar frog: That means it's a problem on AOL's end, right?

AOLTechDUT: Yes it is.

AOLTechDUT: Please tell me what steps you have already tried, so I can help you find the final solution.

edgar frog: Well, if it's a problem on AOL's end......Then, has anybody ever tried filing a class-action lawsuit against AOL for it?

edgar frog: I mean, technically you're LIMITING my time on AOL, and I'm paying for UNLIMITED time.

edgar frog: I'm just curious.

edgar frog: Technically, hypothetically speaking, wouldn't I have a case if I took AOL-Time Warner to court? False advertising. I've been promised UNLIMITED time.

edgar frog: Not that I'm going to take you to court. I'm just wondering if anybody ever has.

AOLTechDUT: I am sorry to hear that and I know how you may feel about this, Edgar.

AOLTechDUT: But I suggest that you need to delete the GLOBAL.ORG to correct this problem.

edgar frog: We're learning about class-action lawsuits in my government class. One citizen can sue a huge corporation in order to represent the complaints of the entire society.

edgar frog: So I figured somebody had probably tried suing AOL for false advertising. Limiting the subscriber's time by resetting the remote server...even though the subscriber is paying for unlimited time.

edgar frog: Hello?

edgar frog: Thanks though. I will try deleting the global.org file

AOLTechDUT: I apologize for the delay in responding to you, and I thank you for your patience.

AOLTechDUT: Yes please try to delete the GLOBAL.ORG file to correct this.

AOLTechDUT: The Global.org file is one of the files that is necessary to launch the AOL software properly. If it has become damaged, such as AOL hangs at the Initializing screen or when you frequently get disconnected, then it is necessary to recreate it.

edgar frog: Okay thanks.

edgar frog: I'm not old enough to sue AOL, but I was just wondering because of my government class.

edgar frog: But, between you and me, wouldn't I have a strong case in court?

edgar frog: Hello?

AOLTechDUT: Yes I'm still here

AOLTechDUT: I am sorry but I cannot answer that one.

AOLTechDUT: Hope you understand

edgar frog: Okay, thanks for your time....Bye.

AOLTechDUT: You're Welcome! It has been my pleasure assisting you. Have a great day!

AOLTechDUT: Bye for now and Take Care :o)

edgar frog: I'll find out more about the class-action lawsuit thing, and I'll get back to you. Thanks. Bye.

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!