Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:45 p.m. - 2002-05-05
9 Entries Till Something or Other Happens
This is my 91st diary entry.

With my 100th diary entry looming on the horizon, I thought I would plan a little something special for my loyal diary fans (all 25 of you)...

Television shows always go above and beyond for their 100th episode.

I know that it is a milestone for magazines, as well, when they hit the 100 mark.

I was thinking maybe I should have some kind of "Edgar Frog's 100th Entry Contest".....some kind of contest, based on Edgar Frog diary trivia. You know, something like, "What was the name of the dog that I thought was reading my mind, in the diary entry about my childhood in the orphanage."

A trivia contest like this is always clever marketing, because it forces all the readers, both new and loyal fans alike, to go back and re-read old entries to find the answer to the question.

You know, something like, the 7th person to e-mail me with the correct answer AFTER my 100th entry has been posted, wins cool Edgar Frog merchandise....

It's a nice plan, in theory.

But, who am I kidding....I don't have Edgar Frog merchandise. I'm not made of money. What am I going to do? Send the winner a t-shirt with my face on it? An all expenses paid trip to Maui?

I don't think so.

Plus, how many e-mails would I realistically get? Two or three at the most, I bet.

I don't have any exact figures regarding the number of loyal readers I have. I do know this: There are 25 other Diaryland writers who have me listed as one of their favorite diaries. I figure there's maybe 10-20 other people who may read my diary, who don't have diaries of their own, and therefore cannot list me as one of their favorites. Silent fans...hiding in the shadows of society....unbeknownst to me, who read my diary faithfully.

So, if I had to wager an estimate on the exact number of loyal readers I have, I'd say about 35.

35 loyal readers.

Not bad!

Generally, for high-profile magazines, readers will send e-mail to the magazine for the 100th issue, saying things like, "Congratulations on 100 great issues. I hope you have 100 more"...or something like that.

For some old geezer's 100th birthday, you might have an entire group of people reminiscing about the subject's life, and discussing special moments that they remember during the last 100 years. "I'll never forget when I was 5, and Grandpa took me down to the river to catch some trout, and that goddamned fishing hook got caught in my scrotum. Grandpa was right there by my side to grab my testicles and pull out the hook. Happy 100th birthday, Grandpa!"...or something like that.

So now, with my 91st entry, I am arranging my own celebration....with 9 entries to go until my 100th entry. And, I need the help of my "fans"....my loyal readers....and even people who have accidentally stumbled upon my diary much to their regret.

Plus, I'm curious just how many people read my bullshit anyways.

So, I ask each and every one of you who are reading this to e-mail me at [email protected] with wishy-washy letters of congratulation, sappy memories of your favorite diary entry, heartwarming stories of how my diary has changed your life, etc.

I'll then post the letters in my diary for my 100th entry.

I will call it, "Edgar Frog's Celebration of Edgar Frog's 100th Diary Entry"......

It's really going to be a special moment in all of our lives....and with your help, we can all cherish this moment forever.

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!