Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2:04 p.m. - 2003-02-09
So long, goodbye......
So, I think my diary has come to an end.

I have three diaries listed in my profile as my "Favorite Diaries"...

Inkedgal, Bonusmeat, and Chainsawprom.

It's true. They are my favorites. The only three diaries other than mine that matter. They give me hope. They remind me that, other than myself, there are people out there who are funny and intelligent and adventurous and can write social anecdotes for the sake of entertainment.

They are the only three diaries that remind me of that stuff.

Like myself, they don't whine about their lives like a manic-depressive, they realize that nobody cares to hear about their relationships, or their jobs, or their homework, or their band practice....Nobody wants to read shitty poems that they've written, or lyrics from their favorite shitty song....

Even when we're not writing about our drunken escapades or daredevil adventures, the four of us still manage to be entertaining, I think. We're like the four horesemen of the apocalypse.

The rest of the world is so boring, I rarely even get Women's Lib applicants anymore....All the girls are too busy crying about their ex-boyfriends, I guess.

And...alas, bonusmeat stopped adding in his diary long ago....chainsawprom stopped adding new entries last November....and inkedgal has recently announced her retirement...and understandably so.

Inkedgal has similar feelings to myself, if you read her last entry.

So, now, with the three of them gone, I feel like a lone beacon of light in a sea of crybaby 15-year-olds. I feel like an adventurous comedian trapped in a room full of two-dimensional manic-depressives with no personalities. And it doesn't really matter to me....I've never been in it for the sake of reading other people's shitty adventures. I like writing funny crap.

But, it was nice to know I wasn't alone...it was nice when other people entertained the public alongside me. And it was nice to know that people gave a shit.

Sometimes, I'll spend upwards of two hours on one entry....for the sake of entertainment.

Why?!

So that a handful of 15-year-olds will get a giggle out of it??

It hardly seems worth it anymore.

Like Kenny Rogers says, "You got to know when to hold 'em, know when to fold 'em, know when to walk away, know when to run."

Amen to that, Kenny.

So, since inkedgal, bonusmeat, and chainsawprom knew when to walk away, I'm taking my cue from them.

I'm cashing out my chips, and leaving the table.

It's time to run.

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!