Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

3:06 a.m. - 2002-11-07
Joke Time
So, I was thinking of coming up with my own joke to tell people.

I want to be the original creator of a joke. And then, I want it to spread around the world via word-of-mouth.

A joke has to start somewhere.

I mean, every joke you've ever heard must've been thought up by one person somewhere.

One person births a joke, other people hear it, and as it comes in contact with more people, it spreads around the world....

It's like giving birth to the West Nile Virus!

So, I tried to think of a good joke all day.

An original joke.

It's not easy to create an original joke....to come up with a premise. Especially a funny one.

This is what I came up with:


Q. Why did the retarded kid cross the road?
A. Because he's retarded.


The key, I think, to telling it with any amount of success is to laugh heartily after you tell it.

Laughing at your own joke after you tell it always makes the listener feel insecure, and they'll be forced to laugh right along with you.....regardless of whether they actually found the joke to be humorous.

On afterthought, I thought the joke had good substance, but the punchline needed to be tweaked.

I came up with various alternative punchlines...and this is what I consider to be the final, and best, version of the joke:


Q. Why did the retarded kid cross the road?
A. Who knows why he did it?! He's a fucking retard!


Go tell it now.....to your friends, family, coworkers...

Don't forget to chuckle loudly to yourself after you tell it.

It's an act, really....You have to SELL the joke to the listener. It's like selling a car.

Convince them it's funny.

It won't be TOO hard to convince them either....I mean, the joke is about a retarded kid.

What could be much funnier?

Other than a joke about a kid with AIDS.

I'm working on that one next....

I have a feeling the punchline will be something along the lines of:

"Who cares why he crossed the road?! I just hope he stays away from me."

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!