Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:18 p.m. - 2002-05-07
Oh, Princess Amidala, if only you were real.....
Can somebody explain to me the popularity of this Ozzy Osbourne show that's on MTV? It broke all sorts of records...Most watched MTV show ever. More than Beavis & Butthead?! More than The Real World?! MTV has just paid Ozzy to continue the show for another two years.

Explanation please?

Can somebody explain to me the popularity of this Spiderman movie? It broke all sorts of records...Biggest opening weekend for a movie ever. $110 million its first weekend?! More than Jurassic Park?! More than Star Wars: Episode I?!

Explanation please?

I probably fall into the 1 percentile of the American nation who has seen neither The Osbournes NOR Spiderman.

And I have no intention of watching them anytime soon.

To me, The Osbournes looks like bullshit. It looks like they took the premise of The Real World and added a fat, washed-up rock star into the mix. Nobody wants to see Ozzy Osbourne's family.

Never mind, I guess people DO want to see.

As for Spidey, it looks too reliant on computer graphics for me. From what I've seen in the commercials, it looks like every web-swinging scene is computer graphics, Green Goblin looks like he's all computer graphics...not even a real actor playing Green Goblin?! Just a computer animation added in there...

I'm more interested in REAL movies. With real actors. I'm not one of those people who wants to see this hi-tech, sci-fi, mumbo jumbo with computer graphic characters and computer graphic explosions. NERDS!

I prefer more thought-provoking dramas.

Romances, even, are more my style.

Which is why I have already purchased advance tickets for Star Wars - Episode II: Attack of the Clones.

You won't see any sci-fi mumbo jumbo in that one.

It's true though, I really have bought advance tickets to it. I am going to see it at 9:30p.m. on Friday, May 17, 2002. Not opening night, regretfully, but the second day is not too shabby. Plus, I am seeing it at one of only 19 digital theaters in the entire country. None of that digital-to-film transfer bullshit that you'll get in other theaters.

That means no little black ovals flashing in the upper right corner (the ones Brad Pitt taught you about in Fight Club), no little squiggly hairs stuck on the film dancing around the movie screen, no scratches or speckles.

Nope...I'll get to see the continuing saga of young Anakin Skywalker in crisp, digital glory!!!

Episode II is going to be the feel-good romantic drama of the year. Not some computer-graphic sci-fi fest like Spiderman. It's the story of a love between a Jedi warrior and a Princess....but alas, it is a love that cannot be....for the Jedi Code states that: "A Jedi shall not know anger, nor hatred, nor love."

Anyways, uh...what was I saying?

Yeah, anyways, I'm going to have to dig my Boba Fett costume out of my closet so I can wear it to the movie on May 17th. I haven't worn it since Episode I came out two years ago.

Hell, I might even still have my old Spiderman costume lying around here somewhere. Hopefully the spandex tights still fit me.

I don't know, I'll probably see Spiderman when it comes out on video....It does have that upside-down kissing scene I'm dying to see....

And then I can just wear my Spidey suit in the comfort of my own home.

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!